A Made Up Mind is a Beautiful Thing

Job 22:28 says, “You will also decree a thing, and it will be established for you. And light will shine on your ways”. 

I love it! If you’ve ever been faced with making a decision, you know, it is not a simple thing. Sleepless nights are spent searching for solutions, weighing this one over that one. Hours are spent discussing our issues with friends taking into account their opinion which most of the time boils down to their co-signing whatever it is we want to do. With or without their input, our made up mind is the most wonderful thing in the world.

A made up mind allows us to vocalize exactly how things are going to go and precipitates moving forward. It’s liberating to be in a position that is positive, sure and expectant. It is not until our minds are made up that we see things come together brilliantly on our behalf. Suddenly our next steps are clear because we can see the path we are to take.

Just this week. I made up my mind about a few things. I could kick myself for the torment I allowed in my life over these matters that, though important to me, probably don’t measure up as “worth it” in the big scheme of things.

It occurs to me that I’ve allowed myself to be victimized by other’s actions and opinions, even my own thoughts, primarily out of fear that shouldn’t, by any account, apply to me as a believer! What the heck have I been thinking? The answer is that I wasn’t thinking. Instead I was allowing the winds to determine the direction I should go. But thankfully God is always speaking; always trying to take us to another level. When we’re tormented,  tossing and turning he is speaking. Truly, AM is not just the morning–it is when we wake up!

My solution came upon me through the wisdom found in James 1:6-8, “But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord.  Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do.”

There it is. The truth, loud and clear. 

Leave a Reply

