The Three R’s

1) RELEASE     2)REFLECT     3)REAP

From the web.

(Image taken from the web)

It is inevitable that offense will find us. The action whether word or deed is designed to strike us to the core. Depending on the offense, we are faced with the choice of how to deal with the state we’re in.  Our choice is to either forgive and move on or to feed the offense. The latter will most certainly leave us stagnant in a life that is meant for constant positive movement.

God knows I have struggled with extending forgiveness. It’s hard. I can’t seem to let go because I am waiting for something that will never show up; some expression that will acknowledge how I feel aka, an apology. Though not intended, the need for an apology makes the issue about the other person when really it’s not. It’s about why we tend to want something in exchange for our forgiveness. Why we can’t give it  just because is a problem considering some things that happen result in a debt that can/will not be repaid in any substantive way. In essence, we will be waiting for something that never comes leaving us with no alternative but to write off the debt and move on, which is not always OK with us.

Exhale. (Silent prayer) God give me a clean heart and renew a right spirit in me!

I thank God that he always hears and is always communicating whether we are listening or not.  For some time, I have been passively listening to God’s communications with me on this issue. I’ve not been ready to let go so I’ve heard only bits and pieces of the wisdom God has been trying to pass along to me.

Like everything else associated with spiritual growth, forgiveness takes time. We have to start with a decision. It is when we decide that God is able to bring wisdom to our level allowing us the understanding that helps us to overcome our obstacles. Unforgiveness is indeed a boulder-size obstacle!

I have decided that I have to RELEASE offenses to wherever these things go in the universe; I have to let go.  A better use for hurt feelings and disappointment is to REFLECT over the matters that created the need to forgive. I have to examine what is to be gleaned from the experience. The focus on the lessons will provide insight that can only make me better, stronger and certainly much smarter at maneuvering within relationships and situations.

To REAP God’s blessings to the full requires a choice to forgive that only I can make.

Colossians 3:13
Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.

Leave a Reply

