When, exactly?

I don’t profess to be the most patient person in the world. I’m easily irritated in checkout lines, traffic or any place else that forces me to play the waiting game– including in life!  Some days I just want to scream. Today is one of those days.

It can be so disconcerting to go through day after day with awesome expectancy of the manifestation of the thing (s), change, or movement we desire only to reach the end of the day and find nothing has happened as far as we can see.

I know things don’t happen overnight but when exactly do they happen? Sigh.

My little rant brings to mind something I read recently that said: “Patience reveals our faith in God’s timing, omnipotence and love.”

Thanks a lot! Right when I’m about to throw a massive pity party, I’m reminded that without faith I cannot please God. Thus, my attitude is adjusted if only just a little. I am working on it.

But God. Even when I am not at my best, whether in behavior or level of faith, God responds when I’m feeling this way with a word of encouragement that is just enough to push me a little farther. His whispers tell me that waiting is a part of the process of growing and seeing his promises come to pass in my life. Waiting is necessary for preparing us to receive as we are not truly ready for all the things we ask.

In the meantime, it is up to me to wait with patience and confidence. No doubt, God’s timing is perfect. My petitions before him will be honored by him. When, exactly? When it’s time.

Leave a Reply

